Kaine appoints NCI directors

June 14, 2006

The Martinsville Bulletin

Gov. Tim Kaine on Tuesday named his seven appointees to the board of directors for the New College Institute (NCI).

Six of the appointees are from Henry County and Martinsville.  They are subject to approval by the General Assembly.

Kaine's appointees are:
- Elizabeth Haskell of Martinsville.  She is a member of the New College Institute Planning Commission and director and vice president of the Martinsville Bulletin.  She is a former Virginia Secretary of Natural Resources, chairman of the State Air Pollution Control Board and Martinsville City Council member.

- George Lyle of Henry County.  He is the attorney for Henry County, the school board and the Henry-Martinsville Social Services department, and also is chairman of the Virginia Museum of Natural History Board of Trustees.

- Amanda H. Redd of Laurel Park.  She is a former Henry County teacher and board member of the Virginia 4-H Foundation and now owns the real estate investment company Sammy Redd & Associates.

- Kimble Reynolds Jr. of Martinsville.  He is the city's vice mayor and chairman of the local Strategic Advisory Committee and has a general practice law firm.

- Joseph Roach of Martinsville.  He is chief executive officer of Memorial Hospital in Martinsville and a member of the boards of The Harvest Foundation and the Martinsville-Henry County Economic Development Corp.

- Rob H. Spilman Jr. of Martinsville.  He is chief executive officer of Bassett Furniture Industries and trustee for the Virginia Foundation of Independent Colleges.  He has been chairman of the New College Institute Planning Commission.

- Dr. Eugene P. Trani of Richmond, the president of Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond.

After an initial staggering of terms, Kaine's appointees will serve four-year terms, with no board member serving more than two successive terms, according to enabling legislation for the New College Institute.

They will join legislative appointees to the NCI board Dels. Ward Armstrong, D-Collinsville; Robert Hurt, R-Chatham; Danny Marshall, R-Danville; and Sen. Roscoe Reynolds, D-Ridgeway.  A second Senate appointee, who has not yet been named, will complete the Institute's 12-member board.

The legislative appointees will serve terms that coincide with their terms of office.

Under the college legislation, the board will elect a chairman and vice chairman and may establish bylaws.

Kaine will be at Chatmoss Country Club today to formally sign the New College Institute enabling legislation.

That will be followed by a press conference by NCI officials, who are expected to make an announcement concerning plans for a pilot program this fall that would allow as many as 50 students to pursue the second two years of several four-year degree programs.


Select News Year: