McClain new chairman of Harvest Foundation

January 6, 2013

            The Harvest Foundation Board of Directors has chosen James McClain II as chairman, effective Jan. 1.

            McClain succeeds Larry Ryder, who was chairman for the previous two years.

            “I am confident The Harvest Foundation is in very capable hands with James McClain as board chairman,” said Ryder, who is remaining on the board. “He has a tireless commitment and to the foundation and brings a strong focus to all of his work.”

            McClain is president and CEO of Southwestern Virginia Energy Industries, which owns and operates the natural gas utility in Martinsville and Henry County as well as other energy-related businesses throughout Southside and Southwest Virginia.

            He has served as chairman of the Education Committee for the Martinsville-Henry County Chamber of Commerce, was a founding board member of the local Boys & Girls Club, a trustee of Carlisle School and a member of the local YMCA board.

            He also has been chairman of the local Workforce Investment Board and was a member of the Virginia Workforce Council.

            “I’m honored to able to serve The Harvest Foundation and community in this capacity,” McClain said. “As a life-long resident of this area, I’m well aware of the legacy of Memorial Hospital and the people, organizations and companies who helped build it. Every Harvest Foundation board member and staff person feels a great sense of responsibility and a duty to responsibly invest in grants and initiatives that will strengthen this community and its citizens.”

            McClain lives with his wife, Anna, and daughter, Harmon, in Martinsville.

            “Without a doubt, the foundation and our community will face many interesting challenges and terrific opportunities this year,” said Allyson Rothrock, president of The Harvest Foundation. “We look forward to a productive and successful year, and we welcome our new board chairman as he guides and assists us in our important work.”

            Other board members include Ryder, immediate past chairman; W. Christopher Beeler Jr., vice chairman; Eugene C. Madonia, treasurer, Gracie Agnew, secretary; Leanna B. Blevins; Paul R. Eason; Virginia W. Hamlet; Cynthia Ingram; Amy P. Lampe; Martha W. Medley; and James K. Muehleck.

            The Harvest Foundation was established in 2002 from the sale of the Memorial Hospital of Martinsville and Henry County.

            It researches and invests in programs and initiatives to address local challenges in health, education and community vitality.


Select News Year: